Today the President of the European Parliament announced awarding the democratic powers of Belarus the Sakharov Prize, the highest prize of the European Parliament marking the contribution to the fight for human rights and the freedom of thought.

The Sakharov Prize was awarded to the democratic opposition represented by the Coordination Council, Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, Maria Kalesnikava, Volha Kavalkova, Sviatlana Alexievich, Veranika Tsapkala, Siarhei Tsikhanouski, Siarhei Dyleuski, Stiapan Putsila.

The Sakharov Prize was founded in 1988 and is awarded annually by the European Parliament to mark exceptional contribution to the fight for human rights worldwide.

As a reminder, in September the European Parliament has recognized the Coordination Council “a transient representative of the people of Belarus” fighting for democracy in Belarus.

Volha Kavalkova, member of the Coordination Council Board thanked the European Parliament for solidarity and recognition of the democratic opposition’s role and contribution to the promotion of democratic changes.

“This is the victory of every Belarisuan man and woman who believed in themselves! For the changes begin with each of us and we have shown that we are the majority and we are united in our desire to elect our authorities and live in a state of law. We keep consolidating our victory, and solidarity and support are the most important things along this way”, commented Volha Kavalkova.

Awarding will take place on December 16 during the plenary session of the European Parliament.

More news

Share this